Barcode and keyboard

Use this Forum to post your “How to …” questions about your use of aXes. This is not a technical support forum. Both the aXes Support Team at LANSA and other aXes customers may answer your questions. LANSA cannot guarantee the accuracy of any information posted by customers.

Moderator: jeanmichel

Post Reply
Joerg Hamacher
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Mar 2016, 00:29

Barcode and keyboard

Post by Joerg Hamacher » 14 Mar 2018, 01:14

Hi,
a customer has created an aXes screen for a mobile device.
One entry field shall be filled only by scanning a barcode.
But when the cursor is positioned into this field the keyboard will be shown automatically which is destroying the logcal handling of the application.
Unfortunately there seems to be no way to prevent the keyboard from appearing and the customer does not use aXes mobile.

Is it possible to use the programming techniques that are described in chapter „Reading a Bar Code into an IBM i Field“ of "axes_Mobile_Getting_Started_for_Developers.pdf" without using aXes Mobile? And does this prevent the keyboard from appearing? Does anybody know about another workarounds?

Best regards,
Joerg

bark
Posts: 3
Joined: 08 Sep 2017, 13:55

Re: Barcode and keyboard

Post by bark » 14 Mar 2018, 16:29

Hi Joerg
So, they run this 1 aXes screen in a browser on the device(s)?
If this is the only screen they designed for mobile device, why don't they use aXes mobile? is it that they just don't want to download an app or for some other reason?
Have you confirmed that the axes screen they created works OK in aXes mobile for the bar scanning field; perhaps if they saw it in action in aXes mobile, they might be inclined to run with it.

Joerg Hamacher
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Mar 2016, 00:29

Re: Barcode and keyboard

Post by Joerg Hamacher » 14 Mar 2018, 22:33

Hi Bark,

they are using devices for barcode scanning that are neither apple nor android based.
And as far as I know aXes mobile is only available for these two operating systems.
Thus they have to use the browser based aXes solution.

Best regards,
Joerg

User avatar
jeanmichel
Posts: 75
Joined: 23 May 2014, 11:37
Location: Sydney

Re: Barcode and keyboard

Post by jeanmichel » 15 Mar 2018, 13:22

Hi Jorg,

As per my email, unfortunately we don’t have control over the keyboard on mobile devices and since the field you are trying to populate is an input field, the keyboard will always show.
That is, on Android and Apple. Unfortunately we don’t support any other mobile devices.

Since the keyboard appearing is a feature of the OS, we don’t have control over that.
Regards,

Jean-Michel Rapin

LANSA Pty Ltd
email: JeanMichel.Rapin@lansa.com.au
Address: 122 Arthur Street, North Sydney, NSW 2060, Australia
Tel: +61 289 070 262 http://www.lansa.com | http://blog.lansa.com |

Post Reply